Difference Between Oscar Awards and Golden Globes

The Golden Globes are hosted by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association. As the name suggests, the group exists to disseminate info about US entertainment to the world at large. The 90 or so members are responsible for publications that provide free advertising to some quarter-billion foreign observers.

This is why the Globes include more categories (two types of best picture) and covers TV in addition to film. It’s also why they tend to nominate projects that might seem less deserving (when compared to the Oscars or the SAG Awards). They want as many titles being promoted as possible.

golden globes

The Academy Awards, meanwhile, are adjudicated by some 6,000 domestics — a combination of actors (20%-ish) and producers and directors, on down the line. This combination of diversity and specialization allows for the awards to generally be more merit-based (though still politicized), and thus more valuable in terms of prestige.

The Academy Awards (Oscar’s) are considered far more prestigious than the Golden Globes and more prestigious than any other award within the film industry.


As Robert Frost correctly stated – the Academy Awards have been around for a long time – closing in on 90 years now.  Because they have been around for so long there is a rich history of winners over the years which include some of the most iconic films and performances of all time.  Think Vivian Leigh winning Best Actress for playing Scarlet O’Hara in Gone with The Wind, Casablanca winning Best Picture in 1943, The Sound of Music, Brando in The Godfather, Robert DeNiro winning Best Actor for Raging Bull, Jack Nicholson in One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, Chaplin receiving a 5-minute standing ovation in 1972 and so on and so on…

These moments are now part of our collective film history – even for those of us who don’t live in America. The audience are keen to know about golden globes winner and oscar winners.

Post Author: Farrukh Saeed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 + 11 =